Stephenie Meyer Twilight Series – Readers Views

Please leave us feedback on the new Twilight Series.

We would love to hear everyone’s comments that have either read the books or seen the movie to see what you thought.  Of course what some people like others may not and we would like to take a poll of your opinion of this new tween series.  We have seen more negative reviews than positive and would like our readers to post your comments.

We look forward to reading everyone’s comments.

Comment by Karla on January 7, 2009 6:13 pm

When this book was recommended to me, I had no idea it was a YA novel. As such, it was a good novel, but as a “no longer young adult” person, I wasn’t quite as grabbed as some of the general population. I have friends who tell me they are madly in love with Edward. I read Twilight, but my inclination to go beyond that is a bit stilted. I love a good vampire book, but this was more of a romance, so I felt a little let down that there wasn’t more vampiring. The book is well written, I’ve not complaints there. I think my biggest drawback, as a vampire offienado, is that Edward is a much older man (even if he was turned at 17), so even though he was very well mannered and even though, as my sister tells me, Bella is an “old soul,” I felt uncomfortable with the old man and the little girl that I couldn’t get out of my head. SO yes, it’s a good book, but no, I’m not young adult, so for me, it doesn’t really rival Harry Potter as a crossover novel.

Comment by lordportico on January 7, 2009 2:25 pm

I’ve read the book and seen the movie, and quite frankly, I don’t know what anyone’s raving about. The first one, Twilight, I could suffer well enough through it, but after the first book, her writing just degenerated. Suffice to say, the succeeding books just got even worse. I don’t even know why I read them. Maybe because of the reason why I watch scary movies although I know they’ll give me nightmares when I finally sleep.

There was no sense of reality in it, and I actually sped-read through most of it since the plot is pretty predictable. I admit, it’s supposed to be fiction, but come on. Who would believe that a vampire centuries old would fall in love with some teenager?

Harry Potter is definitely better than the Twilight Series. I would even prefer to suffer through Eragon again than wasting my time on that book.

3 thoughts on “Stephenie Meyer Twilight Series – Readers Views

  1. When this book was recommended to me, I had no idea it was a YA novel. As such, it was a good novel, but as a “no longer young adult” person, I wasn’t quite as grabbed as some of the general population. I have friends who tell me they are madly in love with Edward. I read Twilight, but my inclination to go beyond that is a bit stilted. I love a good vampire book, but this was more of a romance, so I felt a little let down that there wasn’t more vampiring. The book is well written, I’ve not complaints there. I think my biggest drawback, as a vampire offienado, is that Edward is a much older man (even if he was turned at 17), so even though he was very well mannered and even though, as my sister tells me, Bella is an “old soul,” I felt uncomfortable with the old man and the little girl that I couldn’t get out of my head. SO yes, it’s a good book, but no, I’m not young adult, so for me, it doesn’t really rival Harry Potter as a crossover novel.

  2. I’ve read the book and seen the movie, and quite frankly, I don’t know what anyone’s raving about. The first one, Twilight, I could suffer well enough through it, but after the first book, her writing just degenerated. Suffice to say, the succeeding books just got even worse. I don’t even know why I read them. Maybe because of the reason why I watch scary movies although I know they’ll give me nightmares when I finally sleep.

    There was no sense of reality in it, and I actually sped-read through most of it since the plot is pretty predictable. I admit, it’s supposed to be fiction, but come on. Who would believe that a vampire centuries old would fall in love with some teenager?

    Harry Potter is definitely better than the Twilight Series. I would even prefer to suffer through Eragon again than wasting my time on that book.

Leave a Reply

